Are traps transphobic?

[ Go to bottom  |  Go to latest post  |  Subscribe to this topic  |  Latest posts first ]

thatmaxaaron

22, male

Are traps transphobic?

from thatmaxaaron on 01/04/2019 10:42 AM

I bet the answer is clear, but I want people to talk about it. I remember looking at a post from the artist Katzun and what happened is that it was edited in the description saying "sorry i didn't know that trap was a transphobic slur! I am changing it to crossdresser" or something similar, and it made me somewhat upset since she had to change something to please others.

I had debated with people that trap can be a transphobic word if you aim it towards trans women, but trap just means cross-dressing to me? Thoughts?

|| I am an informative writer, I know memes, but how the hell do I even apply them.

lemonvore

19, male

Re: Are traps transphobic?

from lemonvore on 01/04/2019 02:57 PM

its transphobic if you call a transwomen a trap, yeah cause thats the same as misgendering them. 

but? its not a bad term,, its not a transphobic thing to say crossdressers ARE crossdressers. trap is jus a way to discribe a good male crossdresser smh. 

- wormboy, vincent

placebo.pills

21, male

from placebo.pills on 01/04/2019 04:53 PM

traps are for both sides, like women dressing up as men and men dressing up as women. i read a post that kinda explained the reasoning behind them but i can't remember where i found it. it just explained how some of the characters in anime/manga were forced to dress up as the opposite gender or were just gnc and never wore masculine/feminine clothing but still used their assigned pronouns at birth.
so, traps aren't transphobic but once it gets to people using it against somebody who is actually trans, that's when it gets transphobic. it's disrespectful.